Washington: Garfield County

Garfield County (pop. 2,266) is the least-populous county in Washington. It is one of six Garfield counties in the U.S., all west of the Mississippi and all named for James A. Garfield, the 20th president.

Garfield County is in a wheat-growing area. Its population has declined steadily from a peak of 4,199 in 1910, as farms have gotten larger and farmers have gotten fewer.

Wheat fields south of Pomeroy

The oddly shaped Garfield County is bordered by the Snake River on the north and Oregon on the south.

The county seat of Garfield County is the city of Pomeroy (pop. 1,425) – the county’s only city.

Downtown Pomeroy

The Garfield County Courthouse was built in 1901 in Late Victorian style.

It replaced a wooden courthouse that burned down.

The Seeley Theater in Pomeroy is undergoing restoration.

Built in 1913

A collection of metal animal sculptures can be found along Highway 12, a few miles east of Pomeroy.

Also an alligator, shark, and eagle


wash map copy 2






Washington: Asotin County

We begin our virtual trip through the 39 counties of Washington in Asotin County, located in the far southeastern corner of the state. This is the route that we’ll be taking.

wash map copy 2

“Asotin” (pronounced “us-OH-tun”) is derived from a Nez Perce word meaning “eel creek.”

A wheat-growing region

The county is bordered by Oregon on the south and by the Snake River and Idaho on the east.

The county seat of  Asotin County is the city of Asotin (pop. 1,251), fourth-smallest county seat in Washington.

On the Snake River

Six miles north of Asotin is Clarkston (pop. 7,229), the county’s largest city. Clarkston is at the confluence of the Snake and Clearwater rivers, across the Snake from Lewiston, Idaho.

Clarkston on right

Clarkston and Lewiston, in the Lewis-Clark Valley, were named for Meriwether Lewis and William Clark, who explored the area on their 1804-06 Corps of Discovery Expedition.

They never set foot on the Clarkston side.

Clarkston’s ZIP Code of 99403 is the highest ZIP code in the contiguous United States.

The Lewis-Clark Valley is considered the Gateway to Hells Canyon – the canyon on the Snake River between Oregon and Idaho that is North America’s deepest river gorge.

7,993 feet deep

Fields Spring State Park is in the southern part of the county. It has the only two teepees in Washington state parks – available for campers for $30 per night.

Accommodating up to six persons


wash working map