Minnesota: Swift County

Swift County (pop. 9,783) is just east of Big Stone County. The only Swift County in the U.S., it is named for Henry Swift, the third governor of the state of Minnesota.

Taylor Swift is from Pennsylvania.

The county seat of Swift County is Benson (pop. 3,240).

The Swift County Courthouse was built in 1898.

In the Richardsonian Romanesque style

Christ Episcopal Church was built in 1879. It’s now the Benson Senior Center.

Carpenter Gothic style

St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church in Benson is also on the National Register of Historic Places.

Built in 1917

The Fibrominn plant in Benson opened in 2007 as the first U.S. power plant to burn turkey manure as its main source of energy.

Power is sold to Xcel Energy.

The town of Appleton (pop. 1,412) calls itself the “Home of Honored Veterans”; since 1947, Appleton has named 34 streets and avenues for men and women who have died in our country’s wars.

Appleton War Memorial

Pitcher Jerry Koosman, who won 222 games in his Major League career from 1967 to 1985, was born in Appleton.

1969 “Miracle Mets”

The small town of De Graff (pop. 115) has the large, brick-and-stone Church of St. Bridget.

Built in 1901

The 346-acre Monson Lake State Park is one of the smallest state parks in Minnesota.

Founded in 1937


2 comments on “Minnesota: Swift County

  1. John Dodds says:

    I like the veteran street naming deal. More places should do that, tree names are so boring for streets.

  2. Mary Schlick says:

    …and I love all the steeples!!! Must have been fearless builders in Minnesota!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s