South Carolina: Calhoun County

Calhoun County is one of 11 Calhoun counties in the U.S. All of them are named for John C. Calhoun (1782-1850), senator from South Carolina and the seventh vice president of the U.S. (serving under John Quincy Adams and Andrew Jackson).

A graduate of Yale

Calhoun County (pop. 15,175) is South Carolina’s smallest county in size and third smallest in population.

The county seat is St. Matthews (pop. 2,021), the second-smallest county seat in the state.

Calhoun County Courthouse (1913)

The Calhoun County Museum and Cultural Center opened in 1975.

Admission is free

Actress Viola Davis was born in St. Matthews in 1965.

Nominated for an Oscar for “The Help” (2011)

The unincorporated community of Sandy Run hosts the semiannual U.S. Marine Corps Mud Run.

“Blood Clots, Bones Heal, Sweat Dries . . . Pride is Forever”


sc counties working

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s