South Carolina: Spartanburg County

Spartanburg County (pop. 284,307), west of Cherokee County, has the fourth-largest population in South Carolina. It’s the only Spartanburg County in the U.S.

The county seat is Spartanburg (pop. 37,013).

Morgan Square, downtown Spartanburg

Spartanburg is the headquarters of the Denny’s Corporation, founded in 1953.

More than 1,600 restaurants worldwide

The Spartanburg area was once known as “The Lowell of the South” because of its many cotton mills. Arcadia Mill No. 2 (1923) is now the Mayfair Lofts.

Mayfair Mills went bankrupt in 2001.

The University of South Carolina Upstate, founded in 1967, has about 5,400 students.

Formerly USC Spartanburg

Wofford College (1854) is a liberal-arts college in Spartanburg. It has about 1,500 students.

Associated with the United Methodist Church

Amtrak’s “Crescent,” which runs from New York City to New Orleans, stops at Spartanburg in the middle of the night.

The station was built in 1904.


sc counties working

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s