Wyoming: Teton County

Teton County (pop. 21,294) is north of Sublette County. It was named for the Teton Range, which runs north-south through the western part of the county.

Grand Teton National Park

All of Grand Teton National Park and 40 percent of Yellowstone National Park are in Teton County.

Teton County is the wealthiest county in Wyoming in per-capita income and one of the wealthiest counties in the U.S.

Jackson Hole Airport is the busiest in the state.

The valley known as Jackson Hole has the Teton Range on the west and the Gros Ventre Range on the east, with the Snake River running through it from north to south.

River-rafting on the Snake

At the southern end of Jackson Hole is Jackson (pop. 9,577), the county seat.

Jackson has several ski resorts nearby, including Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and Snow King Mountain.

The Tram at Jackson Hole Mountain Resort

George Washington Memorial Park in downtown Jackson is known for its elk antler arches.

Four of them

Just northeast of Jackson is the National Elk Refuge, which was created in 1912 to protect the largest elk herd in the country.

Winter home of about 7,500 elk

The part of Yellowstone National Park within Teton County includes Yellowstone Lake and Old Faithful Geyser.

Interior of Old Faithful Inn (1904)


wyoming map - working

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s