Maine: Franklin County

Franklin County (pop. 30,768) is east of Oxford County. It is one of 24 Franklin counties (and one Franklin Parish) in the U.S.

The county seat of Franklin County is Farmington (pop. 7,760). Farmington is known as the “Birthplace of Earmuffs” because it was the hometown of earmuff inventor Chester Greenwood (1858-1937).

Farmington has an annual Chester Greenwood Day.

The Franklin County Courthouse was built in 1885.

Romanesque Revival style

The University of Maine at Farmington is a public liberal arts college. Founded in 1864 as Western State Normal School, it was the state’s first public institution of higher education.

It has about 2,300 students.

Franklin County has several ski areas. Sugarloaf is the largest ski area east of the Mississippi River, in terms of the number of trails and skiable area.

Sugarloaf Mountain (4,237 feet) is Maine’s second-highest point.

Mount Blue State Park is near the town of Weld (pop. 419).

Webb Lake and Mount Blue

The town of Strong (pop. 1,213) was once known as the “Toothpick Capital of the World.”

The town of Kingfield (pop 997) is the home of the Herbert Grand Hotel, built in 1918.

Near Sugarloaf Mountain

The 42-mile Dead River flows from Flagstaff Lake to join the Kennebec River.

New footbridge over Dead River


maine map - working copy copy

2 comments on “Maine: Franklin County

  1. dot says:

    I have to visit, the toothpick capitol. I’ve already visited the raisin capitol…….

  2. John Dodds says:

    Maine sure is pretty. I hope the dead river flows into the dead marshes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s