Indiana: Daviess County

Daviess County (pop. 31,648) is east of Knox County. It’s one of three Daviess counties; the others are in Kentucky and Missouri.

Daviess County in 1908

All three Daviess counties (and Jo Daviess County, Illinois) were named for Joseph Hamilton Daveiss (the correct spelling of his name), who commanded the Dragoons of the Indiana Militia at the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.


The county seat of Daviess County is the city of Washington (pop. 11,509).

The Daviess County Courthouse was built in 1928 in the Classical Revival style.

Brick and limestone

The Indiana Theater in Washington opened in 1926, closed in 2011, and was restored and reopened in 2014.

Still showing movies

The Robert C. Graham House (1912) in Washington is on the National Register of Historic Places. Graham was a founder of the Graham-Paige automobile company.

Prairie School style

Cody Zeller, now of the NBA Charlotte Hornets, was Indiana’s Mr. Basketball at Washington High School. He played college ball at Indiana University.

7 feet, 0 inches

Washington was hit by a tornado on Nov. 17, 2013, that destroyed 20 houses and severely damaged about 20 others.

73 tornadoes in 7 states that day


indiana counties working

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s