Florida: Lafayette County

Lafayette County (pop. 8,870) has the second-smallest population of any county in Florida. Its eastern border is the Suwannee River.

It is one of five Lafayette counties and one Lafayette Parish, all named for Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier de Lafayette, Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1854).

The county seat of Lafayette County is the town of Mayo (pop. 1,218), the third-smallest county seat in Florida.

Lafayette County Courthouse (1908)

The former courthouse in Mayo is now a bed and breakfast called Le Chateau de Lafayette.

Built in 1894

Just north of Mayo, on State Road 51, is the 420-foot Hal W. Adams Bridge (1947), the first suspension bridge built in Florida.

Over the Suwannee River

Lafayette Blue Springs State Park, seven miles north of Mayo, has one of the state’s largest natural springs.

Also fishing on the Suwannee River

Troy Spring State Park, east of Mayo, has the remains of the Confederate steamship Madison at the bottom of the spring.

Popular with scuba divers


florida counties - working