South Carolina: McCormick County

McCormick County (pop. 10,233) is South Carolina’s smallest county in population and second-smallest in square miles.

It was formed in 1916 from parts of Edgefield, Abbeville, and Greenwood counties. It is the only McCormick County in the U.S.

McCormick County Courthouse (1923)

The city of McCormick (pop. 2,783) is South Carolina’s fourth-smallest county seat.

Downtown McCormick

The McCormick train station dates from 1911.

Charleston and Western Carolina Railway

The Lower Long Cane Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church dates from 1856.

Near the town of Troy

Savannah Lakes Village is on Lake Strom Thurmond on the Savannah River, between South Carolina and Georgia. The lake was created by the construction of the Thurmond Dam in 1951-52.

Golfing along the reservoir

The unincorporated community of Modoc (pop. 256) was named for Native Americans from northern California who were moved to the area after the Modoc War in 1872-73.


sc counties working