Wyoming: Fremont County

Fremont County (pop. 40,123) is south of Hot Springs County. It is Wyoming’s second-largest county in square miles.

The Continental Divide and the Wind River Range run northwest-southeast through the western part of the county. Gannett Peak, on the boundary with Sublette County, is the highest point in Wyoming.

Elevation 13,809 feet

Fremont County was named for the explorer-military officer-politician John C. Fremont (1813-1890) – along with the other Fremont counties in Colorado, Iowa, and Idaho.

“The Pathfinder”

The Wind River Indian Reservation makes up about one-third of Fremont County. The reservation is shared by the Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho tribes.

The reservation extends into Hot Springs County.

Riverton (pop. 10,615), the largest city on the reservation and in the county, is the home of Central Wyoming College.

Established in 1966

The county seat of Fremont County is Lander (pop. 7,487).

Downtown Lander

Lander is the home of Wyoming Catholic College (2007), the only private, four-year college in Wyoming. It has about 100 students.

Offering a Great Books curriculum

At Sinks Canyon State Park, just south of Lander, the Middle Fork of the Popo Agie River disappears underground for a quarter-mile.

The river’s Crow Indian name means “tall grass river.”

Fremont County has a ghost town called Miner’s Delight and a census-designated place called Atlantic City (pop. 37).

Meet me tonight.

The town of Dubois (pop. 971) was originally known as Never Sweat.

Jackalope along Highway 26-287 in Dubois

In the southwestern corner of the county is the legendary South Pass (elev. 7,412), where emigrants on the California, Oregon, and Mormon trails crossed the Continental Divide.

Yes, that’s it.


wyoming map - working