Maine: Franklin County

Franklin County (pop. 30,768) is east of Oxford County. It is one of 24 Franklin counties (and one Franklin Parish) in the U.S.

The county seat of Franklin County is Farmington (pop. 7,760). Farmington is known as the “Birthplace of Earmuffs” because it was the hometown of earmuff inventor Chester Greenwood (1858-1937).

Farmington has an annual Chester Greenwood Day.

The Franklin County Courthouse was built in 1885.

Romanesque Revival style

The University of Maine at Farmington is a public liberal arts college. Founded in 1864 as Western State Normal School, it was the state’s first public institution of higher education.

It has about 2,300 students.

Franklin County has several ski areas. Sugarloaf is the largest ski area east of the Mississippi River, in terms of the number of trails and skiable area.

Sugarloaf Mountain (4,237 feet) is Maine’s second-highest point.

Mount Blue State Park is near the town of Weld (pop. 419).

Webb Lake and Mount Blue

The town of Strong (pop. 1,213) was once known as the “Toothpick Capital of the World.”

The town of Kingfield (pop 997) is the home of the Herbert Grand Hotel, built in 1918.

Near Sugarloaf Mountain

The 42-mile Dead River flows from Flagstaff Lake to join the Kennebec River.

New footbridge over Dead River


maine map - working copy copy