Indiana: Franklin County

Franklin County (pop. 23,087) is south of Union County, along the border with Ohio. It’s one of 25 Franklin counties and parishes in the U.S.

Twenty-four of the Franklin counties were named for Benjamin Franklin; the one in Idaho was named for Franklin D. Richards (1821-1899), an apostle of the Mormon Church.

Ben (1705-1790)

The county seat of Franklin County is the town of Brookville (pop. 2,596).

Brookville in the fall

The Franklin County Courthouse is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Built in 1851

Skyward Adventures in Brookville has 10 zip lines and four sky bridges.

In the woods

Brookville is also the home of Wolf Creek Habitat, open to the public.

Weekends only

The town of Oldenburg (pop. 674) has been known as the “Village of Spires” because of its churches and other religious institutions.

The unincorporated community of Metamora, on the 19th-century Whitewater Canal, has canal rides, the Whitewater Valley Railroad, and a working gristmill.

The Duck Creek Aqueduct (1843), the last remaining covered wood aqueduct in the U.S., carries the Whitewater Canal over Duck Creek.

Restored in 1949

Grannie’s Cookie Jars and Ice Cream Parlor in Metamora has one of the world’s largest collections of cookie jars.

More than 2,000 cookie jars


indiana counties working